Mom told me…

“It won’t kill you to ride the BUS…”

And she was right! I rode the bus and did not die…

So here I am years later… During the last year the price of gas just went sky high and I got angry. It all seemed to be an artificial squeeze on the general public by the super rich and so I decided to just say no. I find that it is possible for me to get to work and back with a single bus ride. That makes it a practical alternative to driving my own car. There were some unexpected blessings. First, there is a great sense of relief when I get on the bus. I feel at that instant that I am not the responsible adult. Someone else is the responsible adult. If there is a bus crash, so what! It’s not my fault. If I was driving, I am the person that has to pay attention. I am the person that is in charge of listening to the engine for strange sounds… and so on and so on…. When I drive, I am constantly alert and looking for other drivers that could crash into me. So, as a bus rider, I am able to close my eyes and dream or plan art projects or compose lyrics… total freedom… for 45 minutes… also, I get to cruise by the boats at Eureka’s harbor and admire them… also, I get to chat with my fellow riders or evesdrop on their conversations. It introduced me to a totally different class of people and their world. Expanding my horizons…

“The bus came by and I got on,

That’s when it all began…

There was cowboy Neil, at the wheel,

Of a bus to never-never land” -Jerry Garcia

I almost always sing the song when I see the bus arriving… This was one of the Grateful Dead’s Best songs… called “The Other One” It featured about one minute of lyrics and 30 minutes of abstract jazz/space/drums/crazy noise… OH YEAH! It sings of Cowboy Neil Cassidy driving Ken Kesey’s magic bus named “Furthur”

So, get on the bus…

The Beatles took a Magical Mystery Tour on a bus and so did The Who…

“The Magic Bus”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

