RIP Geocities. Loved it dearly.

Yahoo geocities was my first website…

I built it starting in 1997 using the free computers at the San Jose public library. To this day, it still has a great ability to let a person that knows how to write html the freedom to make it exactly like you want it.

Visit:

http://www.geocities.com/gregvan

or

http://www.geocities.com/momsaachico

I really liked using the free service to build a website for my AA group. People could write in my guestbook and I would read and respond. This was a key part of my recovery from alcoholism.

We also used it as a convenient place to store Literature that people could print out and take to meetings… One thing that seemed to happen a lot was that we would lose the printed words that every meeting started with… “How it works”, “More about alcoholism”  etc… So my lovely wife typed the words into this website so we could print out a fresh copy at any time… all we had to do was walk over to the school’s library and use their computers to print a fresh copy… Later I added maps and meeting schedules… I know for a fact that at least one person found our clubhouse and made it to a meeting by searching the internet, finding my geocities page and following the directions… They thanked my in the guestbook…

They were on tour with AA and were driving around the USA in a mobile home… every new town they visited they found a meeting…

I myself have visited other towns and gone to meetings… It’s a great way to get a locals insight into what’s fun to do…

Anyway…

Thanks for all the good times we had on

YAHOO GEOCITIES!

May the content live on!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

